“It’s Our Time, Down Here”

Photo: The Goonies, Warner Bros.

“What is the Holy Spirit?” some of you ask, especially those who just read my schpeil on the Trinity.

And then I tell you, “From experience, the Holy Spirit is that water slide from The Goonies.”

“I’m sorry, what?” you say, because you are a very serious person with a very serious question, & I am a twit inebriated with the blood of Christ.

So I say to you, a serious person, “You know when the kids in The Goonies have to escape the Fratellis & they end up on that wacky water slide & they have no idea where they’re going & it’s scary but also kind of fun? And they end up being one step closer to freedom? It’s like that.”

“Huh,” you say, having never thought of it like that because St. Athanasius never ever said that even once in his ponderous creed.

Obviously the Holy Spirit is not a water tunnel dug by a fictional pirate. But as wind is only “seen” by what it does to the trees & the Los Angeles rubbish and my hair & sinuses, the Holy Spirit is best seen by effect.

I mean, it originally appeared as tongues of fire. What actually do you want from me here?

When I truly, sincerely surrender my will to the will of God (not just ploddingly cooperate, but deeply let go of the wheel), that water slide opens under me & suddenly I’m moving to another state to become the only Christian intuitive at a famous psychic bookstore. I’m now listening to dailies from Argo with the sequel to 300 coming across my desk. I’m driving the Bishop of El Salvador to a Dodger game. I’m doing Holy Week by myself & somehow it’s all working. I’m afraid I’ll be homeless one month and buying a house the next.

Like, you really have to let go. And then cling so very tightly to God, because only he knows where this crazy thing is taking you. If you let go, you may fly off the path into darkness. YOU ARE NOT AS SMART AS GOD.

Keep your hands and feet inside the ride at all times!

I did it again recently…surrendered. Not out of sadness or anger or frustration. I just said to God, “You have now blessed me with tremendous stability. Surely you want me to have a place from which to do your Next Thing. Lay it on me! Veni sancte spiritus!”

I can already feel it starting to ramp up again. What wacky adventure is coming next? What thing I do not believe myself capable of doing will be I asked to do? How will I be stretched and challenged by my Lord?

I’m nearly done with school. Will it be that? Will it be—gasp—a path to marriage? Will it be cancer? I dunno. I just invite God to use me & then marvel at the wonders.

I do very much wonder indeed.

Leave a comment